Skip to main content

Vocational Courses

BTECs / T Levels / NVQ / CACHE

  • Vocational courses are typically designed around a specific industry / occupation.
  • Courses usually range from Level 1 and go up to Level 3 and higher.
  • Vocational courses are an opportunity to specialise early in a subject that interests you.
  • It often means studying one main subject (some schools and colleges allow you to blend academic and vocational options).
  • If you have not achieved Grade 4 in GCSE Maths and English, you will be required to complete these qualifications alongside your main course...


T Levels Explained

T Levels are a brand new, 2-year qualification that will give you a head start towards the future you want.

They bring classroom learning and an extended industry placement together on a course designed with businesses and employers.

The courses are available at selected colleges, schools and other providers across England. Providers offering T Level course up to September 2025

T Levels: welcome to the next level - YouTube

T Levels are ideal if you have finished your GCSEs and want the knowledge and experience to get straight into employment, an apprenticeship or higher education.

You’ll spend 80% of your time in the classroom and 20% on a 45-day placement with an employer to give you the knowledge and skills companies look for.


Why Choose a T Level
T Levels take 2 years of full-time study and are equivalent to 3 A Levels. They are a new choice after your GCSEs. Check out the five great reasons for choosing a T Level – and get ready to move to the next level.

1. Created with businesses
T Levels have been designed with leading businesses and employers to give you the knowledge and skills you need.

More than 200 businesses – including Fujitsu and Skanska – have been involved so you can be confident your T Level will move you to the next level.

2. Get ahead in your careers
T Levels give you the chance to learn what a real career is like while you continue your studies.

Your industry placement will last for at least 45 days – when and how you complete it depends on the T Level, college and employer.

3. Qualifications that count
When you pass your T Level, you will get a nationally recognised certificate showing the overall grade you achieved - pass, merit, distinction or distinction*. It will also give details of what you learned on the course to help you move into skilled employment or a higher apprenticeship.

4. Awarded UCAS points
Your T Level will be worth UCAS points – a T Level Distinction is worth the same as 3 A Levels at A* – and will be recognised by universities and other education providers so you can choose to continue studying if you wish.

5. Learn your way
T Levels involve more classroom study than apprenticeships, which means you can experience an industry while you continue your studies.


Like A Levels, there are no tuition fees to study a T Level if you start before you are 19. Schools and colleges set their own entry requirements, so check their website or contact them direct to find out more.

Find out more information about T Levels from the Department of Education and Find T Levels in your area.